Samhain Nights

The wheel of the year has once again turned and gone full circle.  A time for endings and new beginnings.  Time to reflect on the days gone by with hope of the days ahead. As I reflect upon the year behind me; love ones lost. The job I lost in January when the family I took as my own said, “No worries . . We shall always remain close.” Now upon this reflection, they have each moved on with their lives. All of them happy, all of them achieving new goals along their own paths. I remember the laughter; the learning; the sorrow and even the anger of our last days.  Even now, I feel their love within my heart. Even now that we have each gone our separate ways. I am grateful for the time I had with them. They were beacons of light upon my own path.

While life can seem ever so complicated one day, with questions appearing ever so quickly. There are days when all the answers are ever so apparent.  Life is like that you see, some days knowing all there is. Some days knowing that which I don’t really know. It raised the question each morning; what will this day bring.

Samhain (Halloween, as most know it to be) is a joyous time for me.  The days when my world lifts the veil of past and present; for all to see. For many it’s a time of ghost tales and bewitching haunts. The children dress in costumes in a parade along the streets begging for candies and treats. For me, it is like the leaf that falls from the tree.  Life still exists for the tree, but it sheds its protective shield against the warmer temperatures of summer. So now comes the time when we shed our leaves and prepare for winter.

The days are shorter, the nights longer, Samhain is the time for change. The time to look to the future.  Samhain is a mystical and enchanted night, when magick can be done to benefit out personal lives as well as our planet. And so on this night, magick is afoot; dreams and wishes abound. I reflect upon that which has passed with the pending excitement of that which is to come this year ahead. Feel the magick in the air, or is it really coming from my heart.  Know that which has been is no more; that which is to come will be magickal as the rising sun …

10/30/09

forest

2 thoughts on “Samhain Nights

  1. You are still loved and a part of our small family! 😉 I don’t think Carol, Donna, Monica, Kat, Allie or myself will ever think other wise or forget you! Wish you had been here but understand why you weren’t.

    Your friend always,
    Terra 🙂

Leave a Reply

