Signs of Nature

The morning was bitterly cold, but I headed out anyway. I felt it was something I had to do for myself.  A wise friend told me to go for a walk  in my favourite place.  As I got out of my car, I didn’t hear the usual squawking  of  the ducks and geese.  Smart I thought, taking refuge from the cold.  Usually, the Chickadees are right there waiting for their seed.  It was silent. Not a bird in sight, interesting, I thought and proceeded to the path, opening my heart to the messages that my angels would befall upon me today.  All I could think about was the fact I couldn’t feel the tips of my fingers.  I had balled them up in my gloves to get the circulation back.
When my fingers had finally gotten the blood back to them and warmed up, I thought about the words my friend had said to me; “walk slowly, listen, hear, see, feel.” He told me to ask to be clearly shown what they desired to show me…  so, I slowed down my pace, and paid attention to my thoughts

as I walked along, and heard these words ringing through my head. I asked to be shown a sign of what message I needed to hear. That is when I heard a voice say to me, “lift your head; look“.  I lifted my head, and stopped in my tracks, for there appeared just ahead of me, a hawk.  He flew across the path, then back again, and across once more. But what was interesting was that he flew low to the path, as if beckoning forward.  I hurried to see where he was going, and he flew up over my head and back south into the field… wow.  I got out my camera but because the sun was so bright I couldn’t see what I was taking a picture of. So I just snapped the shutter and hoped something would appear.
Continuing along the path, my hear beat faster as I wondered what message the hawk brought to me today.  When the wind picked up, I pulled my scarf up to my eyes, head down again to shield me from the cold.  As I came into a treed area, there at my feet were the print of the deer.  Beautiful.  Crisp in the fresh fallen snow.  I couldn’t see where they went.  It always pleases my heart to know the delicate, and soft presence of the deer is near.  And I thought about their travels alone this area, hiding when they sensed the presence of humans that are near.  I felt that they were somewhere close. Not wanting to disturb them, I carried along my way.
Curious as to why  there was no sign of the Chickadees, I came upon the clearing in the forest, and as I stopped at the sight of the sparrows, a cardinal flew right across my path.  I looked for her mate, as the sighting of the cardinal seems to be in pairs.  I looked in the trees, but she was there alone.  At least I had no sign of her mate today.
The cold brisk temperatures become much more than I can bare, so I quickly make my way back to the car.  Now, where’s the hot chocolate…
3 thoughts on “Signs of Nature

  1. Beautiful. As I’m reading I notice the snow falling, just like it is snowing
    here as I read and type.
    Very special.

    Love and Blessings,

    Arnora

Leave a Reply

